LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

building a hp8673C driver (first time driver builder, coaching appreciated)

I've got a HP8673C Synthesized Signal Generator, communicating with Labview over GPIB-USB-HS cord (Labview 8.6.1 on Windows XP). There is no existing driver, so I am setting out to build one. I have never built a driver before, so here it goes. 

What I've done so far: 

• Downloaded and installed the NI-488.2.3.0 driver
  • Watched the NI presentation on the Instrument Driver Development
  • found the operating manual for the device (link) on the Agilent website.
  • created an instrument driver project, made an icon, and started testing the codes.

First question: Why does the error query vi have a loop in it? When I query the message on my device ("MG") it returns a 2 digit number error code. "00" is no error, and any non "00" code is an error. When there is an error (say, "20"), then it never stops the loop of the error query (because the return number is not equal to zero). It seems like I should just take the loop out, but I wanted to check why it was there in the first place.

Second question: Using the NI-488.2 Communicator, I query the device "*IDN?". It returns "FR03000000000HZ"; this also resets the HP8673C, and shows the error corresponding to "Invalid HP-IB code" on the device... any ideas what's happening here? Is there something I should be doing to EOS? I don't really understand what the EOI is or what my device requires.

Any help is greatly appreciated. In doing this project, I am hoping to learn more about how Labview works too, so feel free to point out things that I should know in general, especially if I'm missing steps. I hope it helps other first time driver builders too.

Attached is the driver project as it currently stands (mainly so you can check the error query vi if you want to).

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(2,772 Views)