From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

build a .dll in Visual Studio C++ 2008 and use it in labview

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

For a few days I've been trying to create a .dll file with c code and use it with a call library function node in LabView. But I could never do it successfully. I use Visual Studio 2008 and labview 8.6.

I had a look at a few tutorials, but they were written for different Visual Studio versions. And because I am a newbie to Visual Studio, it was to difficult for me to do it in an other version than the turtrial is written for.  Though I have lots of experience in programming c for atmel processors(AVR Studio).

Is there anybody who could help me step by step trough Visual Studio C++ 2008 and later also help me to setup my call library function node?

I'm form Switzerland, so my English may have some mistakes. Sorry for this.

What I've done until now:

* I opened VisualStudio 2008 and created a new project.

* For this i used the template "class library" (because i live in switzerland, i have german versions of visual studio and labview. So probably it's not called exactly "class library" in the English version)

* The project is created and I can insert my functions.

* but here I have already some difficulties: In my tutorials they say that a function has to be defined like this:

type WINAPI name(arguments)

{

code

}

for example

unsigned int WINAPI multiply(unsigned char a, unsigned char b)

{

unsigned int c;

c = a * b;

return c;

}

but when I try to build the project i get the errormessage:

syntaxerror: missing ; before 'multiply'

* when I delete WINAPI, it creates the dll file