LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

automatically find a value

Dear all, 

First post here, so please forgive me if I'm posting in the wrong place, and if so, please point me to where I should be. 

I have a series of very basic questions, but the burning question, at the moment is this: Is there a way to automatically locate a point on a waveform graph?

So, I'm studying a vertical ground reaction force-time curve and want to find the point at which the subject leaves the ground, say when a value below 10 N is recorded, and when they land again, say when a value above 10 N is then recorded. I'm using an active cursor to identify some key points (other questions on these later I'm afraid) and wonder if I could use this as some sort of 'onset' from which the search begins?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Jason

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 34
(2,734 Views)

Care to share what you have tried?  Showing some code is encouraged also since it helps us understand the situation.

Sounds like you should just use a for loop and look for a threshold on the data to find your data point.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 34
(2,722 Views)

Hi crossrulz,

I'm afraid I haven't tried anything yet, as I'm really struggling to understand how this might work. I'm guessing that it's something relatively simple, but because I haven't come across whatever it might be before I probably wouldn't realise I'd found what I was looking for even if I had found it. 

I've attached the VI and a text file of data. If you want to run it you'll need to select channel '3' as the Fz channel, and delete 11 rows. The sample time is 500.

Many thanks,

Jason

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 3 of 34
(2,707 Views)