LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

application copyright protection

I am getting ready to market a Labview application that will sell for around $500 per copy. I am in need of information on how to protect this application from users installing on multiple PCs and 'sharing' the CD. The CD I provide is only needed for the install process at this time. I am estimating my yearly sales to be about 50 copies.
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,062 Views)
High Greg,

There are two ways to do it.

1: Use Flexlm. This is done with a lot of products. NI also uses this for the remote front panel licensing and all software which will needed to be registered.

2: Use a hardware dongle. We use the dongle from WIBU. There are some other good products on the market. These dongles allow network installations which allow you to use one dongle to manage a group of users.

Unfotunatly I have no experience how to integrate the solutions into a LV application. 1 we have never used and 2 is a Visual C++ application.

Here is another thread about this problem.

Waldemar
Waldemar

Using 7.1.1, 8.5.1, 8.6.1, 2009 on XP and RT
Don't forget to give Kudos to good answers and/or questions
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(4,044 Views)
Greg;

If you still want to implement the copyright scheme yourself, this are some of my thoughts about that subject. I hope this can start a good topic of conversation: