LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Working with existing code

Hi Everyone,

I'm new to writing to forums etc. so forgive my approach if it seems a little different.

I would be delighted if I can offer a discussion that is helpful. I have worked for a number of years without being monitored, designs have worked ok but I don't get expert feedback. I want to find a way of learning better more efficient techniques, other than from youtube and courses.

I am working on various  test sequencer projects  (RF test equipment using RS232, GPIB etc) with someone else's code.

Here are some of my questions:

Are there any drawbacks from using "DATA HIWAYS" (Clusters of clusters on shift registers of a state machine). which contain all/over  aprox 100 controls. 

So i pick up someone else's design and its really big, spanning 6x the screen, wires everywhere.

I decide to keep the functionality but refactor the code to one screen. I create a state machine that allows me to break down the process into single steps, I am thinking I want to practice working with Object Oriented programming but at a much later date, so I plan to  let the project "evolve gradually toward OOP", so I try to make each VI very similar, similar to a class method with error in/out and class in/out and maybe one other terminal.

I notice that each VI has all data available and most processes are unbundling or bundling with a simple process. No untidy wires, a simple testable step, but a heck of a lot of data choice.

Yes I could access as much as possible via references, but would it be better to limit the data.

I'm not experienced with OOP, but i'm thinking it would be an easier step to let all the data travel down the root class wire, and use dynamic dispatching instead of case structures. 

In general I don't have the time to rebuild from scratch and the functionality of the code is ok anyway.

Any comments would be gratefully received.

Kind regards

Alan