From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

While loop in microseconds

Solved!
Go to solution

Dear all,

I am still quite new to labview and I need your help for a timing question:

Here is the Hardware I possess:

_NIPXIe-1073 Chassis

_NIPXI-6259 DAQ

_NIPXI-6722 DAQ

_NI5751 FPGA with the module 2147 (Analogue input) and 2148 (Digital I/O)

The software I am using is Labview 2012 64bit.

Now here is my question:

For now, I am only using the NIPXIe-6259DAQ board which has analogue inputs and analogue ouputs.

What I need to do is record an analogue signal, do a couple of matemathical application on it and send it to an analogue output. I am doing this in a Labview while loop (attached is my vi).

However this entire process of acquisition and output signals need to be performed in 1 microsedonds.

For now with the NIPXIe-6259DAQ board when I try to run this kind of tasks, I can only write 10samples/ms...when I use probes in labview to check how many samples are written.

Do see an obvious solution to my problem with the hardware I possess??

Otherwise, what kind of Hardware should I purchase in order to realize my requirements??

Many thanks,

Best Regards

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,348 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author rihns

For the microsecond turnaround, I really think you will want to go with an FPGA, something in the PXI R Series boards should work for you.  I would not trust Windows at all to be able to turn that data around in a microsecond, nevermind consistantly.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines