LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

What is an "Add on"? AND how do I go about making one?

Solved!
Go to solution

Ok I've been looking around, and I see a lot of talk about these Labview Add on's/Apps.  I think it is great that Labview is expanding with this, but just what is an Add On.

Is it a glorified vi, with added features? I'm not really sure. 

Are these add ons similar to chrome app, firefox add ons, visual studio add ons, and others?

Can I change what labview does with these add ons?

I'm interested in making an add on,  How do I go about this. 

Being an intern I don't want to fork out lots of dough.  Is there a common API for which developers can use? I do have Labview 2012 dev suite, Can I make an add on with this alone?  I also have Visual Studios 2010, would this be a tool to develop an add on?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,594 Views)

Add/ons are components tht can be used to enhance an existing set of software.

They are an advanced topic that requires some thought before attempting to create them.

How much experience do you have with dynamically loading VIs and the like?

Yu should really start with the simple stuff before you go for the gusto.

LV 2012 is still in Beta. If you are really using LV 2012 then you should be posting to the Beta forum.

Ben

Retired Senior Automation Systems Architect with Data Science Automation LabVIEW Champion Knight of NI and Prepper LinkedIn Profile YouTube Channel
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(2,588 Views)

My first inclination is to say that if you do not know enough about LabVIEW to understand the available add-ons, then you are not really qualified to write one of your own. Everything listed here is an add-on.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(2,581 Views)

@Ben wrote:

LV 2012 is still in Beta. If you are really using LV 2012 then you should be posting to the Beta forum.