From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

VI to update excel report every time is ran

Solved!
Go to solution

HI all,

Im new to the LV world and i was wondering if someone here can help me with my current issue.

Im trying to create a Vi that every time its ran it records the selected values into a spreadsheet(template) and saves it. 

so far i have i working as mention before, the issue is i dont want to create a new report every time the Vi is run  but to update the same report by moving one row down in the spreadsheet.

So lets say I run the VI to check a voltage and current, it records the values (which i get it do so ) in row A1 and A2.

Next day I run it again and it should record the values in the same spreadsheet but B1 and B2 and so on and on.

I do get it to work if i use the write to delimited spreedsheet VI but that is only for .CSV and i needed to be on a excel file because the template is a report  that has its own format and conditions  

below is a screenshot of the Vi ,any ideas on how to get the Microsoft parameter cluster to increase  by 1 every time the VI is ran.

Thank you

Shawn19_0-1598932784729.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,326 Views)

Hi Shawn,

you could read in the spreadsheet first to determine the first free cell to place the new values!

(In ExcelVBA you would do it similar by searching for the end of the current data…)

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,299 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author Shawn19

Hi Shawn19,