LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using shift registers verses global

Solved!
Go to solution

I am new to 2009.  Our last upgrade was 7.1.  I'm upgrading our lab SW and utilizing events.  EVENT 1:Is used to display data from a text file in a table "Data Set".  EVENT 2: Using radio button and the table "Data Set", the user selects the column of data to be used for the test which is displayed in a table "Test Points".  EVENT 3: If the user changes the data in the "Data Set" table, the "Test Points" test point table is updated.  I'm using local variables for "Data Set", "Test Points" and I was going to use it for other parameters as well (radio button, etc).  I was also thinking of using a shift register to carry that same information through.  I've used shift registers in the past and they can get messy but I also understand that you should stay away from variables.  Please pass along any advise on using local variables verse shift registers.  THANKS in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,702 Views)

There are few, if any, absolutes in software design. One absolute that exists is that people will always jump on bandwagons. Of course, that's not limited to software design, since it applies to everything. The "local variables are evil" is one such bandwagon. What you should be staying away from are race conditions, not local variables. Local variables, if not used properly, can easily lead you to race conditions, but they are by no means a guarantee of creating one since you simply used a local variable.