LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using scripting to add and remove subVIs to another code programatically

Hi everyone,

I am using a QMH architecture for a project which can have a variable number of cameras attached to it. Is it possible to use API Scripting to add subVIs to the code when more cameras are required? 

In the picture I have my code so far, I'd want to duplicate the Camera Loop for however many cameras are required. If I made the whole loop a subVI would I then be able to place it using API scripting (or another method?) on this block diagram and connect it to the queue and the error?

I'm completely new to API scritping so it may not be a good thing to try and do, but if it's possible I'll give it a shot.

Many thanks

Pete

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(3,757 Views)

I would not use scripting to change subVI's just to vary the number of cameras operating which you would consider a normal part of executing the code.  The subVI's would have to be in a non-running, and not in a position to be run in order to be edited.  Then you would have to asynchronously call them once the scripting is done modifying them.

The proper thing to do would be create a reentrant subVI that can be called multiple times.  Asynchronously call as many copies of that as you need.

Message 2 of 11
(3,729 Views)

Hi RavensFan,