LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using .net to design the user interface, the program does not respond when the button is clicked

Hi,

I am new to LabVIEW and approach it from a C# programming background

I create a form  with a button control. When click the button the call back VI is called, but the program does not respond.

The block diagram

image.png

The call back VI

image.png

When the callback is called ,the sub VI will run and show the front panel, but the program does not respond.

image.png

Thanks in advance

Aya

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(1,513 Views)

Hi Tomato,

why do you need to create that button using .Net? Why not use a plain LabVIEW button with an event structure?

Does it help to close the callback reference immediately after initializing it?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(1,508 Views)

@GerdW wrote:

Does it help to close the callback reference immediately after initializing it?

I guess this is the problem. By the time the button is pressed, the callback is no longer registered. Worse, it may be registered but waiting for the garbage collector. Search the forum for "GC.Collect" and Your particular version LabVIEW version for how to handle that puzzle, if it is at all possible.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(1,460 Views)

Hi, @GerdW

Thanks for your fast response. I'm sorry for not clarifying the situation.

I'm a university student and I 'm involved in a high-speed bearing test bench project, in which my work is designing a software (user interface) for test bench.  The user interface I need contains menu-strip and toolstrip. Like the user interface below:

Tomato_lover_0-1614957935335.png

I'm used to design user interface by C#. But I didn't know how design a form contains labview  control. 

Therefore I try to use .net  design UI in labview. If you have any better idea, If you have a better idea, you are welcome to bring it up.