LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Parallel Port For Non-standard communication in VISA

Hello, I am trying to get a old spectrometer (SPEX 1680) working that uses a weird form of parallel port communication. I am rather new to Labview but it seems like VISA is only letting me send command to a serial port rather than controlling individual pins as being high or low (see attached section of the manual for what I need to send). A old program worked on windows xp using Out Port.vi but that doesn't seem to be available on any thing but xp and I rather not install xp if I can avoid it. Out Port.vi was just sent numbers and a address to move the stepper motors. How can I get visa to change single pins on a parallel port?

snapshot1.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,939 Views)

This example looks like it might help you:

Using VISA to Access the Parallel Port in LabVIEW

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,915 Views)

I did see that code before but I wasn't able to get it to control anything. There also doesnt seem to be any change in voltages running vs not on the pins of the parallel port but I am not sure what that should look like.

snapshot2.png

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,863 Views)

Well I have never tried this code so I can't vouch for it, but it "should" work...

Anyway the type cast changes the integer output of the Boolean Array to Number into a string as VISA Write only accepts strings.

Looking at the notes on the example it says pins 11 (printer busy) and 12 (printer out of paper) must be grounded to transmit data. 

But your diagram shows Pin 11 as "Step" and Pin 12 as Limit LO.

If VISA requires these lines to be pulled low to send data out the other pins and your device requires these pins for other controls, you might not be able to use VISA.

========================
========================
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(2,856 Views)