LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using LabView, Arduino, and Easy-Driver to control a Stepper Motor

Hello fair folks of the LabView forums!

I am a humble engineering student in need of some advice and input on a project I am working on.

I’ve also done a fair amount of reading on the LabView forums with people trying to use LabView and Arduino to control stepper motors, and I’ve used as much information from each as I could. However the problem I'm encountering now is one which is unique to my VI Configuration.

So, here is what has been done thus far:

-Installed LabView Interface for Arduino [LIFA]

-Installed necessary VISA drivers for LabView to communicate with arduino

-Uploaded firmware to Arduino to allow it to communicate with LabView

-Properly wired Stepper Motor with Easy Driver and Power Supply; I have verified this by first using the Arduino independently of LabView, using example code found here.

-I have created a VI, and have just recently got it to run without reporting back any errors. While I suspect the behavior I’m encountering has to do with something inside the VI, it is difficult to determine as there are no errors being reported!

But here is general problem I am encountering:

-Connect Joystick to USB Port, connect Arduino to USB Port.

-Plug in outlet for Power Supply

-Open LabView VI

-Run LabView VI

-LabView successfully detects Joystick, and Arduino.

-Tilt Joystick; Stepper Motor moves in proper direction, but it only takes a single step. If held, it does not move further. If returned to zero, and then tilted, it again only takes a single step.

I know that in the example code, the Arduino issued the step command by writing the signal from LOW to HIGH, and varied the speed by how often it did this.