From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using Formula Node for Vector Subtraction

Formula Node for subtracting vectors.  Works fine for:

Running Vector 1.4 @ 75 degrees, Slow Roll 0.35 @ 65 degrees

Will not give correct answer for:

Running Vector 1.1 @ 265 degrees, Slow Roll 0.35 @ 65 degrees

I know the Formula Node expects radians, but is there also an issue with angles greater than 180 degrees?

Answer for second example should be 1.43 @ 258.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,720 Views)

Not sure why it doesnt work. I have no experience of the formula node.

For vector subtraction I would use the inbuilt complex datatype like this.

Complex.png

Not sure if this helps or not.

0xDEAD

Message 2 of 12
(3,697 Views)

Sometimes it helps to just stop and think about the problem.  Your "vector" is a polar representation of a 2D Vector, which can also be expressed as a complex number.  In either the 2D Vector formulation (an array of X and Y components) or the complex number formulation, "Vector subtraction" is simply subtracting the two representations.

Your first step is to convert your representation to a true Vector representation.  The simplest method may be to use complex numbers, as there is a function, Polar to Complex, that does this (theta, of course, needs to be in radians).  Once you have two complex numbers, subtract them, use Complex to Polar, and convert theta back to degrees (if you wish).

The Complex functions are found as a sub-Palette on the Numeric Palette.  No Snippet, as the code is so simple, and you will "learn by doing".

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(3,693 Views)