LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Using DAQ-assist to input a waveform; need help building a counter to count voltage "spikes"

Hey all! Cat Wink I'm pretty new to labView and even newer to this forum, but its nice to meet you all...I hope that perhaps someone can help me with my problem.

Allow me to begin by detailing the specifications of the problem.  I am an undergraduate student, and have a job doing research in a MEMS (micro/nanotech) lab.  The graduate student I am making this program for is working on biomedical applications;  eventually, the program will be connected to a microdevice that has a tiny channel in it, cut through a wee little capacitor, which blood will run through.  As red blood cells pass this capacitor, the voltage will spike; meaning that for each voltage spike, we can (and are trying to) count the number of red blood cells.

However, I am still in the early developement of the program, so this above specific info is not that important.  Basically, I am using a function generator to input a waveform to the DAQ assistant of, say 500 mV.  I am trying to write a program that increments a counter every time I turn the voltage above say 550 mV (peak-to-peak), counting the number of simulated "spikes."  I have tried quite a lot to write a working program, and although I have not gotten it to work yet, I will post a screenshot of my most recent attempt HERE:

labview snapshot.png

I thank you in advance for any helpful tips, advice, or straight up assistance you may be able to give me.  Please ask me any clarifying questions about the program I wrote or the application, or anything.  Happy Friday! Smiley LOL

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(3,085 Views)

Hi!

That sounds like a very cool application!

The problem with the code you are writing is that it will increment for the entire time that the signal is above 0.55V. We need it to just increment the first time it crosses 0.55V on the rising edge.