From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unwired or bad terminal

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am not an expert in labview. I prepared a labview VI and it is broken. When I try to run it then an error message appear "Merge signals: contains unwired or bad terminal". Kindly help me to resolve this error.

Thanks,

Message 1 of 12
(5,504 Views)

Grab the bottom of the merge signals function then drag it upwards.

Then start looking at the online LabVIEW tutorials
LabVIEW Introduction Course - Three Hours
LabVIEW Introduction Course - Six Hours

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(5,482 Views)

Hello,

you had some terminals unwired where your signal splits and merges. I removed the unused terminals.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 12
(5,480 Views)

Hi ramanlvm,

No access to LabVIEW to look at your code. Though you're looking for a merge signal function (image below) which either isn't connected or is partially connected.  You can expand/reduce the amount of inputs to this function by hovering over it and clicking the 'up/down'drag handles.

_20140310_210116.JPG

Regards,

Peter D

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 12
(5,476 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ramanlvm

Hello ramanlvm,

Try double-clicking on the error in the Error List window- it will highlight the merge signals primitive function, which it appears you're using to combine signals into a single file.  You're seeing this error because of one of the basic concepts of LabVIEW- a function requires that all inputs are available before it can execute. The merge signals primitive function is currently sized to accept 16 or so channels, but only six are wired. Because the dataflow requirement of all 16 inputs can never be met, the VI will not compile and run.