LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unexpected Behavior with Matrix Multiplication

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm experiencing some strange results with the matrix multiplication VI.

Specifically, I'm trying to test the validity of a rotation matrix by checking that the inverse is equal to the transpose, ie. that R x R' = I. However, when I multiply a 3x3 matrix by its inverse, the result is a matrix with 1 on the diagonal and non-zero elsewhere. 

This is my first time doing linear algebra in LabVIEW, so I'm prepared to have made a foolish mistake, but I've attached a screenshot that seems pretty clear cut. Any ideas as to what's going on here?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,779 Views)

@Woodwings wrote:

I'm experiencing some strange results with the matrix multiplication VI.

. However, when I multiply a 3x3 matrix by its inverse, the result is a matrix with 1 on the diagonal and non-zero elsewhere. 

Yes.  That is what it is supposed to do.  http://www.mathwords.com/i/inverse_of_a_matrix.htm   Yes R x R' = I

Multiplying a matrix by its inverse isn't the same thing as seeing if its inverse is equal to its transpose.  That is seeing if for matrix R that R(T) = R'   Where R(T) means transpose of R since this editor doesn't do superscripts.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,760 Views)

To expand slightly on RavensFan's excellent answer, a matrix of all 1's is its own Transpose, but has no inverse.

You do realize, I hope, that computers approximate numeric quantities.  If you have a matrix and take its inverse, it it highly likely that you will have elements of the inverse that cannot be exactly represented in 59 binary digits (a.k.a. "bits"), so when you use them in a multiplication/addition problem whose answer is theoretically 0, you might, and probably will, get some non-zero answer.

To see if a Matrix equals its Transpose, you only need to do a Matrix Transpose and a Compare if Equal, no computation to speak of.

Bob Schor