From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Unable to create file buffer DB Tools Open Connection LabView

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello all,

This is my first time posting in this forum so I apologize if I am not utilize this tool correctly. Please let me know if there is a better location/topic/tags etc. that I can use to better align myself with forum expectations.

Here is my setup; I am attempting to use the DB Tools suite in LabView (LabView 16.0 (32-bit)) to create (Open Connection) a database connection reference object and then use the Select Data tool to query my PostGRE server for the required information. Pretty standard stuff I imagine. I'm using the string variation of the Open Connection tools with a network filepath leading to a stored dsn file containing all the network information. I then feed my username/password info and timeout information into the sub-vi. On other machines around my workplace that have a similar program (I'm duplicating portions of it for another project) run this portion of the program fine. However my current setup on my own dev PC receives an error on the Open Connection tool.

I'll include screenshots of the vi and the error.

I've searched NI forums, I've searched forums specific to ODBC and the very few posts even contain this error suggests one of three things:

The first possible issue that the forums suggested was that the dsn file and dsn object in the ODBC Data sources manager tool was configured with the 64 bit version of ODBC and needed to be deleted and reconfigured using 32 bit.