From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggering a pulse after certain amount of time

Hi everyone,

I am using cRIO, NI 9403 DIO and NI 9205 Analog Module. My controller's system time clock is 40 MHz. I am able to trigger two pulses at the same time but I want to trigger an analog signal after 25 nanoseconds a digital signal. For instance first the program generates a digital pulse and 25 nanoseconds after start of the digital pulse, analog pulse will be triggered.

How can I do this using LabVIEW FPGA?

I am new to LabVIEW so any ideas or any example VI's would be much appreciated.

Regards,

Kaan 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,382 Views)

Hi kaan,

first the program generates a digital pulse and 25 nanoseconds after start of the digital pulse, analog pulse will be triggered. How can I do this using LabVIEW FPGA?

Output your digital pulse. Then wait a tick (of your 40MHz clock), then output the analog "pulse"…

That said:

The NI9403 doesn't support 40MHz operation. It only allows upto 140kHz.

The NI9205 doesn't support 40MHz operation. It only allows upto 250kHz. It also is an AnalogInput module and does not provide analog outputs…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,354 Views)

Hi,

Thanks for your reply.

Output your digital pulse. Then wait a tick (of your 40MHz clock), then output the analog "pulse"…

I have a program in LabVIEW. I will also implement it in FPGA so most of the functions will be same. I have attached the picture. Could the program work as I want to generate two signals with 1 tick between their start time.  

It also is an AnalogInput module and does not provide analog outputs…