From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Triggering a non-aquisition event on voltage threshold

Solved!
Go to solution

I am collecting and plotting a single voltage channel, and need to have a pause in the procedure until the voltage rises to a certain threshold.  I made a loop as seen below that I think will work, but it feels odd as I have a continuous read in a loop- should it be some other read function?  Is there a way to use DAQmx Edge if I am NOT triggering measurement?  I am new to labview and am not sure if there is a more common way for what I would think is a frequent task.

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(3,217 Views)

Hello,

When it comes to DAQmx triggering, it would be good to know what device you are using as well as what kind of signal you are trying to capture. The device affects which types of triggering is available to it, which can be explained below. 

Tips and Techniques in Data Acquisition Triggering - NI-DAQmx

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/4329/en/

As far as having a read in a while loop, that is generally good behavior. 

In addition, I believe we have what you are looking for in retriggerable tasks. Check out the link below and see if the examples there help out.

Retriggerable Tasks in NI-DAQmx

http://www.ni.com/tutorial/5382/en/#top

Best,

Shamik C

Applications Engineer 

National Instruments 

http://www.ni.com/support 

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(3,148 Views)

I will be monitoring voltage (0-1V) with a USB-6001.  The user will set the critical value for the voltage to rise to, and then when that voltage is hit, the VI moves to the next state.  The code is my first full VI and very much a work-in-progress.  The part in question is under the "wait for TCD" state.