LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trigger button click programatically after a specified time

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm trying to make an application that doesn't require the user to make a click on a button, in order for the action to occur. I need this action to occur every 500 ms, but the thing is I don't know how to do this programatically, since I'm new to labview. what I want to do is take a picture from my web cam every 500 ms, and in another windows, I want to capture the entire video. So I would have a live video stream on one side and a picture from that live stream on the other side. any examples will be greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 33
(3,978 Views)
Hi nando1988,
-First you need to understand how to capture video and images from webcam.
-Please check examples bundled along with labview for grab(Continuous capture) and snap.
-For examples>>Help>>Find Examples>>Search for grab and snap.
-Check this for an example i added. In that vi, whenever you click button, at that instance the captured image will be saved.
http://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Capture-image-from-video-live-streaming/m-p/2663925#M793602
-In your case it will be every 500ms it needs to capture image. Using proper timing vis change the value of boolean control to get it done.
Thanks
uday
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 33
(3,962 Views)

I already have an example, that captures video and an image through a button click, but now I want to modify that code, so that it captures an image after 500 ms.

I tried using a while loop and a timed loop inside of it, so that it is always running, and takes a picture every 500 ms. The thing is that if I do that, only 1 image is taken and the video freezes.

I also tried only using a timed loop, but the same thing happens.

Please tell me what can I do to fix this.

And if you could give me some code, I would be really thankful.

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 33
(3,952 Views)