LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Trajectory Control for a Differential-Drive Robot, Using LabVIEW and Lego Mindstorm NXT

Hello Community,

This is my first post and I am very new to robotics, LabVIEW, and algorithm creation in general. The project summary is to construct a differential wheel robot that can autonomously reach 7 waypoints each with a predetermined location. The waypoints are black hockey pucks. There will be randomized obstacles in the form of orange safety cones that the robot must avoid. The robot is a LEGO Mindstorm NXT kit. 

These are my tasks for this project:

• Create a trajectory control algorithm in LabVIEW to follow a sequence of waypoints with pre-defined coordinates.
  • Must navigate and avoid obstacles as it executes the path planning algorithm.

I want the robot to follow one continuous smooth trajectory to cover all waypoints in a predefined order. The robot can utilize a sonar and photosensor for navigation. How I am approaching this project is to implement a state space trajectory loop, a path planning loop, and an object avoidance loop. Again, I am an absolute beginner and any tips in the right direction are extremely appreciated. Is my approach correct so far?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,703 Views)

Hi SwiftDrKenny,

Could you elaborate on your approach? Are you planning on having three loops running simultaneously or are these different states of your software?

If these loops are just different states to direct the robot's path, I would recommend looking into State Machine Architecture. Below are links explaining what state machine architecture is and how to implement it in LabVIEW. 

Application Design Patterns: State Machines

Tutorial: State Machines

David F.

Applications Engineering

National Instruments

www.ni.com/support

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,660 Views)

Hi David,