LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Testing Communication with USB RS422 for a stepper motor in LabView 2013

I am new to LabView and I am trying to fix a script that hasn't worked in over a year at my university. I have a stepper motor that I would like to control via LabView. The LabView version I have is LabView 2013. The stepper motor is an mdrive 23 motor driver plus made by Schneider. I was able to successfully establish a communication with the IMS Terminal that came equipped with the motor via a MD-CC4 USB to RS422 Comm Converter. However, I am having trouble establishing communication with LabView via the same USB.

I am using the following two links as references: link 1 and link2

I went to MAX and was able to see the communication link ASRL[board][::INSTR] (which is shown in the screenshots attached below which in this case it is COM6) however I don't see any option where for the Open VISA Test Panel. Thus, I am unable to test the communication and not sure how to proceed? I am using LabView 2013, any suggestions or help will be extremely appreciated. The script worked over a year ago but I was tasked to fix it and not sure what my next steps are.

I have attached my VI and screenshots of the MAX terminal that I have. Also, I am unable to find the NI-VISA app, is that app necessary?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(1,825 Views)

And you are going to get the magic 8-Ball response.  

Here's the thing about serial ports.... they are serial!  By definition of SERIAL they can only be used by one application at a time.   You guessed it... you cannot open a communication channel to a serial resource from somewhere and then try to use it from somewhere else! 

You have to close (release the hardware resources reserved by) the other application before you can use any other application (like LabVIEW) to get into that serial resource.