LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Temperature Control using labview

Hi there! Need some help here!

So im really quite new to labview and currently im involved in a project that requires me to control the temperature in a chamber using a power source to a heater and a DAQ to a thermocouple. If the temperature of the chamber rise above the set point, I would require the power source to switch off. When it drops below, the power source switch on again. Right now im trying to use a case structure to activate/deactivate my power source, however

1) Im not so sure how to settle the false part (true part as well actually) and

2) How to link my DAQ readings to the temperature comparison part.

3) Also, would the method of using a relay be better?

Attached is my VI. Thank you very much!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(14,529 Views)

Hi Shalalas,

I would require the power source to switch off.

How do you switch this power supply on/off?

All you do in your VI is setting some voltage/current levels on two "channels"…

What are these "channels"?

1) Im not so sure how to settle the false part (true part as well actually)

Why do you need this case structure? Isn't it possible to set certain voltage/current levels as needed for the heater?

2) How to link my DAQ readings to the temperature comparison part.

I don't know. Do you need to "link" DAQ readings with temp readings?

3) Also, would the method of using a relay be better?

Depends on your hardware. Unfortunately you don't tell so much about the hardware…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 27
(14,501 Views)

It seems to me that I've seen numerous "Exercises" for DAQmx devices or "Getting Started with LabVIEW" that involve temperature controllers.  That must be why it is such a popular homework assignment.  Talk to your classmates.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 27
(14,491 Views)