LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TDMS File Disappeared

I am using LabView to acquire data from a shake table test. I have 17 channels (LVDTs, accelerometers, time, LED). Data are written to a TDMS file at 1000Hz. The same TDMS file is used for all repetitions of a given test. Each repetition is saved with a different group name. After each recording, the TDMS file viewer pops up to show the data. The user closes this, enters the next group name, and starts recording again.

I've been using this setup for many months without issue. After my last test, there was a problem that gave me quite a scare.

After testing, I went to open the TDMS file to check a value. I double-clicked the file (H1_50p.tdms) to open using the TDMS file viewer (excel). When excel opened, it gave an error about how the root was not found. I closed excel and went to check the directory of the TDMS file. Indeed, the file was gone now!

I did a search of C:\. Windows has some recollection of the file (see screenshot). But the file itself (with all the test data) was just gone. Fortunately, I was able to recover the data from a backup TDMS file. But I'm afraid to test again until I know the source of the problem. I've attached a screenshot and my VI.

Have you seen this before? What could be the source of the problem? The PC is old, and right now my best guess is just a disk error.

My DAQ hardware: 

Labview 2010 (I think that's the version, not at my DAQ PC right now)

SCXI-1000 with SCXI-1520 module and 1314 accessory: for LVDTs

SCB-68 : accelerometer and LED

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,229 Views)

This doesn't pertain to your TDMS problem but is more of an efficiency comment.