From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Synching data collection of two serial streaming sensors

Solved!
Go to solution

I'm quite new to labview (although I am enjoying getting to grips with it and do wish I knew about it much earlier) and I have run into an issue with synching data collection between two different serial sensors for pressure and weight.

Both sensors continually stream data. Pressure is driven at a pre-defined value on the hardware itself (1-10s) and sends the time in ASCII along with the data itself, whilst weight continually updates in the milliseconds. My goal is to collect the value of the latter at the same interval as the prior so it is in synch. I wish I could control it via commands and place it in a timed loop but it isn't feasible with the hardware.

This is probably quite a simple thing to rectify and I lack the knowledge. My gut instinct is to run a greater than test for return count on VISA read and use that to drive a case structure to read from the other sensor. But this value would be an old value which didn't reflect the weight at the time (probably early in the buffer?). So alternatively I tried a while loop within a while loop to capture the last value from the weigh balance- but I quickly learned the inner loop would fire and never end. I have tinkered with the VI since (attached) but its clear I'm missing some fundamental function somewhere.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(932 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author AutoPez