From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SubVI/Instrument Driver Causing Slow Response Time

Good morning,

I had an AC source working with amazing reponse time yesterday but this morning I tried to add reporting to it and the whole system takes quite a while to respond now.

I can attribute this to the "Measurements" sub VI that was included with the instrument drivers for the power source. I timed my VI and the driver VI and its response time accounts for about 97% of the time of the program.

I guess the solution is remaking the VI to respond faster. I'm still quite new to LabVIEW and was wondering how to get a specific read off of an instrument with multiple values? I'm also guessing that the "Call Library Function Node" function is out of the question for this, as I think that may be what is taking so long.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,044 Views)

You need to break this up into separate tasks and use a proper architecture like a state machine or producer/consumer, not one big loop with a flat sequence.

BTW you do not even need the flat sequence at all. Think "data flow" and use the error cluster to enforce it.

Also DON'T IGNORE THE ERROR CLUSTER.

========================
=== Engineer Ambiguously ===
========================
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(3,021 Views)

While RTSLVU is correct that your VI could use some work, if it is true that the one manufacturer's VI is taking 97% of the run time, it's an unrelated problem.

I see that the 61600 series has options for RS232 communication and GPIB communication.  Which are you using?  If RS232, what's the baud rate?