From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Store data coming from Serial Port in Buffer and then take action?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello! Everyone,

I am new to LabVIEW and i am taking help from various videos and stuffs available online to get started with LabVIEW.

But i have to complete an assignment, that's why need help.

initially i had see some of the videos tutorial and learnt about the LabVIEW interface and done one small project from communicating with Serial Port (Receiving and Sending Data).

Now coming to my task.

My LabVIEW application will send some packet to query state to my device or to control and based on the response packet i have to display values.

The Packet Structure is as

Header, Length, Op_Code, Data, Checksum

There is no terminator like Carriage Return or Line Feed or anything else.

In C language i read data coming from the Serial Port, and based on Length i conclude whether i receive the complete packet or not and then by recalculating the checksum value, integrity of packet is checked, and then based on which Op-Code was sent decision will be made.

(I am dealing with hexadecimal data)

But how can i do this in LabVIEW.
Any tutorial or any referece will be helpful for me.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 27
(5,483 Views)

@xpress_embedo wrote:

In C language i read data coming from the Serial Port, and based on Length i conclude whether i receive the complete packet or not and then by recalculating the checksum value, integrity of packet is checked, and then based on which Op-Code was sent decision will be made.