LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Start and stop button at the same time....

Hi experts,

I am a beginner of the labview, I appreciate if you can help me out.

I have been doing to create a start and stop button for my program, but I got some trouble for creating a start button to make it in same status with stop button...

When I try to put a event structure outside of my while loop, the stop button inside the while loop won't work anyone, I don't know what should i do to deal with this situation, could u plz help me? Also I have a 'export' button to export the measurements, how can I to make it can be pressed anytime after I press the start button?

Thanks in advance!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(2,291 Views)

Hello Rivershen,

Your program looks good and I don't think there should be any problem with the stop button unless the program gets stuck in any of the subroutines.

If you want to export the data any time after the program starts the put the event structure inside the while loop. Notice there should be a timeout event with a timeout as per your requirement and there should be another event which is linked with the export button.

CLD Using LabVIEW since 2013
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(2,269 Views)

Hi River,

your block diagram can be improved: after using AutoCleanup it immediatly fits into just one FullHD screen…

Other improvements:

• Don't open and close the VISA resource in each iteration.
  • Use a FOR loop when you want to limit the number of iterations!
  • When you want to handle different things in parallel (event handling, data saving) you should program those parts in parallel. Right now your event structure is called AFTER the loop due to DATAFLOW!

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 3 of 12
(2,260 Views)

Hi GerdW,

Thanks for your reply and your great advice!