cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Specific problem with incrementing in a while loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I'm pretty new to labview, I'd be grateful if someone could help me out on this one.

I'm trying to implement a voltage sweep, by providing a Start Point, Stop point and Step size. I've implemented it using a while loop, where a shift register adds on a step size to the start point and when the value equals the value of the Stop point the loop breaks.

The attached VI seems to work with whole numbers e.g. Start 1, Stop 10 and Step Size of 1.

However when I use a Start value of 0, Step of 0.1 and Stop of 1, the loop never breaks. I've tried editing the format & precision but still can't get it to work. Could someone please explain why this is happening.

What I've also noticed is that if the equal to sign is changed to a greater than or equal to then the loop stops at 1.1 instead of 1. If I specify the followling START of 0, an Increment of 0.1 and a STOP of 0, the loop does stop at 2.

I've attached the VI (IncrementStepSizeWhileLoop.vi).

Many thanks.

ranveerm

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,644 Views)

I found out quick that comparing reals is dangerous. Multiply, convert to an integer, and then compare. I recently wrote a polymorphic vi that does this since I seemed to be repeating the same code over and over again.

When I first started using LabVIEW a little over a year ago, one of my frustrations was with how difficult LabVIEW makes it to do start/stop/step. That is so fundamental to test and measurement. In the lab, a person is constantly sweeping some parameter.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,638 Views)

This is related to the representation of floating point numbers. See here for more details. Attached modified example is one way to avoid this problem.

Message 3 of 12
(3,630 Views)

The issue you are seeing is not LV but the nature of finite digital computers and the way they represent numbers.