From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sound and Vibration Assistant - Recalibration issue and Microphone Setting

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to the Sound and Vibration Assistant software and have a few minor questions. First, if I am using a 200V mic power supply, which setting should the coupling mode be? Also, where is the "enable ICP"?

Second, after calibrating the input signal I have tried three times to recalibrate after the initial calibration and the program crashes... is this common?

Lastly, is there a way to listen to your previously recorded signal through headphones?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,494 Views)

What DAQ card are you using? If you are using IEPE, you will need to use AC Coupling. You can find the option to enable/disable IEPE (or ICP) when editing the step setup. Its label is Iex Source. If you set it to None, you turn off excitation to the virtual source.

The second thing you mention, sounds like it could be a software bug. Can you elaborate on this issue? Step-by-step instructions would be helpful so I can see if I can reproduce the issue as well. 

In LabVIEW, there is a way to convert data to a .wav file for listening. However, this feature is not built explicitly into SignalExpress. If you have LabVIEW, you could try creating a LabVIEW plug-in where it SignalExpress will call LabVIEW code.

Creating a signal express plugin with LabVIEW: http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3203

A forum about a similar issue: http://forums.ni.com/t5/SignalExpress/Converting-Data-to-wav-file-format/m-p/601329?requireLogin=Fal...

Hope that helps!

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 5
(2,480 Views)

Using DAQmx (with USB 9234)