LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sort measurement data from Random Number generator input.

Hi,

I am a Labview novice attempting a DSC project for an end-of-semester Manufacturing Control assignment.

Basically building a conveyor belt that transports moulded parts by a Vision System and sorts measurements into pass or fail categories. Later to include an IO Server, variable library and VIs for Operator, Engineering and Quality departments.

*** I will not include any part of a Vision System in the project, just reference it in report.

I managed to build the conveyor belt, Stop button, ON/OFF breaker and reset but that really adds little to the project. 

Through my own confusion I am stuck at the stage of gathering data. I need to use a random number generator to simulate continuous output from the Vision System. What I would like advice on is how to connect the RNG to a case structure/enum/state machine to input random measurements, sort into pass or fail and output the data to fill pass or fail bins. I have some small experience of filling and emptying tank and using arrays so hopefully can get that far myself. My plan is to have as basic a system as I can as more variables could lead to issues later. I have left it way too late to post here as I need to submit this by Wednesday but any advice would be more than appreciated.

I have attached my attempted VI and a snip of it. Please ignore Flash Boolean. Was planned to have a third case for a rework bin, will now just go for Pass and Fail case.

Regards,

Tony

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(2,784 Views)

Your random number is between 0 and 1, so you want to multiply it with a reasonable number to even get to 9. (Never do "equal" comparisons on floating point numbers).