From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sinusoidal motion to servo

Hello everyone!

I am absolute beginner in LabVIEW and I have to write program, that will generate sinusoidal motion in servo drive. I am using circular motion formula:

x(t) = A * cos(w*t)

where "A" is Amplitude and "w" is angular velocity w = 2*pi/T

"T" and "A" are my variables that I will be changing in my program.

My task is quite complex, but firstly I would like to start from the most basic thing. I made cosine function and connected it to VI that is contacting with servo by VISA (this VI is not mine, but is from older project and it suits also to mine). Result of function is my velocity of driver shaft, that is changing concontinuously.

When I am giving constant value as a velocity, it works, but when I am connecting my cosine function, from which I wolud like to gather values of velocity, it doesn't work. What am I doing wrong? I am thinking that I should discretize function, because driver cannot process this constantly changing information about velocity, but I don't know how.

This version, with constant velocity, is working

skrin2.jpg

And this, with my functions, doesn't work

skrin1.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,647 Views)

Hi Piotr,

@jeandebrem wrote:

When I am giving constant value as a velocity, it works, but when I am connecting my cosine function, from which I wolud like to gather values of velocity, it doesn't work. What am I doing wrong? I am thinking that I should discretize function, because driver cannot process this constantly changing information about velocity, but I don't know how.

What did you wrong?

Two main errors: