LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Simulation model converter: cannont communicate with MATLAB

Hi,

I am trying to convert a Simulink model (.mdl) to a VI labVIEW model by using tha Simulation Model Converter.

The Simulink model contains some parameters (Matlab variables) initialised through a .m script.

The conversion fails and the following error is reported:

ERROR: LabVIEW could not communicate with MATLAB.An installation of MATLAB is required  to use initialization scripts.

I am using MATLAB 2009b and LabVIEW 2010 SP1.

Is it a bug or is there some configuration that I am missing?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,504 Views)

Hello Tommpogg,

My name is David and I am an Applications Engineer at National Instruments UK.

There versions of MATLAB and LabVIEW that you are using should create no problems as they are compatible with each other. Do you have the error code for the error that occurs? This should speed up the trouble shooting process. Also what is the reason for you converting the Simulink model to LabVIEW? Have you considered using the LabVIEW Simulation Interface toolkit which is designed to create a LabVIEW User-Interface for Simulink models? I have included a link to this for you to have a look at:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/tut/p/id/3583

I hope this helps and am more than willing to try and help further if you reply with some more details.

Regards

David B
Applications Engineer
National Instruments UK
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,496 Views)

Hello David,

Thank you for answering.

First of all, I am a LabWIEW newbie, whereas I have got some experience in Matlab/Simulink.

No error code is returned. The conversion procedure just terminate with a window displaying the error I reported and some more errors related to the fact that the .m script was not run.

Recently, my company has decided to switch to NI technolgy to implement a control loop on a FlexRIO board.