cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Shifting bits in an array

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am a student Electromechanics in Belgium and I am making a simulation of an explosion with 48 leds for my final project.

In the attachment you can see the program I already wrote. I think it can be done easier but I don't know how.

I splitted the 48 leds into 2 arrays, with in each array 24 leds.

If you see the program you will understand :smileyhappy: Actually the best way to make this is to shift bits, but I don't know how it can be done in LabVIEW.

I will have to expand my program so it would be nice if I could just symplify this to get a better overview.

So what I would like to know, can I shift "bits" like you can see the leds burning in following VI?

It has to be possible to set the number of bits that are "1", and the speed of the shifting.

3 bits at the time:

1) 1110 0000 0000

2) 0111 0000 0000

3) 0011 1000 0000

4) 0001 1100 0000

5bits at the time:

1) 1111 1000 0000

2) 0111 1100 0000

3) 0011 1110 0000

4) 0001 1111 0000

Thanks

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 13
(5,409 Views)
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 13
(5,400 Views)

I know, but the old one isn't correct.

I tried to delete it but I don't know how..

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 13
(5,398 Views)

OK, so we're going to stay in here then? I posted a reply in the other to indicate the move.

Your VI is hard to follow. You have local variables EVERYWHERE. You are clearly a text-based programmer who is trying to write LabVIEW code as if it were C. Skipping what your VI is actually doing, it sounds to me like you need to use Rotate 1D Array.

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 13
(5,393 Views)