From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Select Excel Sheet & Cell

Solved!
Go to solution

I currently have several hundred excel files which each have 3 sheets.  Some of the files have been saved with the first sheet open, some with the second sheet open, and some with the third sheet open.  When one of these files is opened it automatically opens to the sheet that was displayed when it was saved last.

I need to write a LabVIEW program that opens each of these files, does some formatting, makes sure cell A1 is selected in each sheet, and make sure the first sheet is open when it is saved, so it opens with the first sheet showing.  I'm new to ActiveX, but I've already figured out the formatting, and I'm doing formatting in all 3 sheets.  I just can't figure out how to choose which cell is selected and which sheet is displayed.

Thanks for the help,

Jeremy

Jeremy Backer
CLAD
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(4,752 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JMBacker

Try the attached VI.   It was adapted from:

http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/epd/p/id/60

I had to change the cell contents of the desired sheet to keep that sheet on top when saved.  You probably could just change an attribute (font size, etc.) if changing the cell contents is undesirable.

Note: the selected sheet name on the front panel is the sheet that will be on top when opened.
Message Edited by vt92 on 04-13-2009 04:34 PM
>

"There is a God shaped vacuum in the heart of every man which cannot be filled by any created thing, but only by God, the Creator, made known through Jesus." - Blaise Pascal
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(4,733 Views)