LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Search string and return data

Solved!
Go to solution
Use Index array and take 1st (and 2nd) column as 1D array, then search.
0 Kudos
Message 11 of 17
(605 Views)

@rafael.assis16 wrote:

Hi, I'm new to labview. I have a string (Data1: A, Data2: B, Data3:C.......), I need to go through this string to fetch the data, regardless of the order. Example: look up Data2 and return only B. But I need to do this for a set of Data1 or Data2 and etc, my string will contain a lot of data.

From what the OP wrote, I'm not sure if all the "Keys" in the Key:Value pairs will be unique. i.e., it sounds like there could be multiple entries for Data1. So I was thinking how best to extract all the data for each unique Key. I'd seen a method that used variant data (apologies for not knowing the author). I modified it somewhat because the indexing tunnel forced the 2D array to have the maximum dimensions with the default being "0". IMO zero could be a valid value so I tried to force the default to be "NaN" instead. Looks kind of Rube Goldberg-ish.

Would this be the best/easiest method to sort the data?

Sort Data by Keys.png

fp.PNG

Message 12 of 17
(601 Views)

My labview is 2012, do not open the file.

0 Kudos
Message 13 of 17
(589 Views)

@rafael.assis16 wrote:

My labview is 2012, do not open the file.

Are you referring to my VI? If so, here it is in ver. 2012

Message 14 of 17
(585 Views)

I liked your solution, but I have a problem because my data is strings and you do a string conversion for number. Another thing, I wanted to look for one or more values ​​within that defined list, in this example it brings the result of all variables.

0 Kudos
Message 15 of 17
(578 Views)
Solution
Accepted by rafael.assis16

@rafael.assis16 wrote: