cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Scanning from file

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am trying to write a code that reads a data from a spreadsheet file, which has multiple rows.

The recorded data has a formatting that looks something like:

Test Serial | Data1 | Data2 | Data3 | .....

SN1          | ##     | ##     | ##     |.......

SN2          | ##     | ##     | ##     |.......

and so on.

What I'd like to do is to determine the test serial number of the last measurement by reading the number that immediately follows "SN" from the last line of the file(e.g. 2 for the example above).

This must be quite simple, but I have never done this before so I need some help.

I tried putting "SN%d" for "format string," but I keep getting an error from the source"Scan From File (arg 1)."

Does "scan from file" only work for a file with one row? If so, how do you isolate the last row and make it scan from that line?

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,425 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author wook

You can make use of the "Index Array" function on your 2-D array to pull out certain rows out of you array. Use this in conjunction with the "Transpose" function to pull out columns. Use the "search 1d array" for your functions as well. I am unsure the delimiter characters you need to use though. 

Message 2 of 8
(3,418 Views)

HI,

ASCII files do not support random access.  read the entire file and extract the last row of the data.  Then  usematch pattern to isolate the numeric field from the SN field. Post back for queries.

With regards,
JK
(Certified LabVIEW Developer)
Give Kudos for Good Answers, and Mark it a solution if your problem is solved.
Message 3 of 8
(3,417 Views)

Thanks to both DoomPirate and JK,

Here is the thing. The way the data are recorded is using "write characters to file" and "build array" with "tab constant"/"carriage return constant."