cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Sampling frequency in while loop issue

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I'm a student who is doing thesis about electrical vehicle monitoring system in labview. I'm collecting analog measurement data from usb-6009, transfer it over daq assistant and use state machine inside while loop to do monitoring process.

So, I have one state which determines sampling frequency of the loop cycle, and I've made able to change this rate in values of 0.1, 1 and 5 Hz. I've realised it with Elapsed Time Express VI which is in loop but outside case structure for states. I'm setting frequeny rate in Elapsed Time "Time Target" input, And the boolean "Time has elapsed" output goes to the case structure, which changes to the next state when the time runs out. In the next state it resets the Elapsed Time and the cycle starts from the beginning.

So, everything works fine until I see in my log file (txt file where I save the measurement values) that it made on the frequency of 5 Hz only 3 or maximum 4 samples per second.

I have pretty good computer with i7 processor and 8 gb of ram.

What could be the problem?

In the picture below it can be seen how I realised this with timer.

Thank you in advance.

Matej

sampling

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,994 Views)

Looking at visible portion of your design, I can't tell if you are using that elapsed time vi to first wait specified milliSeconds and THEN doing your other logic which reads analog channel(s). Perhaps you could post the vi!

For example, in case of 5Hz, it could be that you are first waiting for 200mSeconds and then doing your analog read/etc logic which is taking another 100+ milliseconds.  If that were the case then you're essentially reading at 3.3Hz (which would explain why you're reading 3 or 4 readings).