LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

SCXI-1000 & USB

Hi.  I'm trying to read 32 Channels from a SCXI-1100 module that is in a SCXI-1000 Chassis.  The chassis is being read by a DAQCard-6036E... old PCIMCIA stuff!

Labview keeps throwing me errors that the maximum acquisition rate is 3.125KHz per channel.  I thought the was strange since the SCXI-1100  module was capable of much more (over 5KS/S/ch).  Then it dawned on me the the DAQCard is 200KS/S for 16 channels... and this would be 100KS/S for 32 in a mux which comes out to the magic number 3.125 KS/S/Ch.

Among other things, my problems are A) I am new to Labview & NI Hardware B) I am simulating this hardware C) I have never used a chassis with a mux output.

Can I "hook up" a -1000 Chassis to a USB device?  I have been searching NI for this information but have been unable to discern what data acquisition cards can be used with the SCXI-1000.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

terry

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(2,912 Views)

Hi Terry,

I might need a little more information, but I think I understand your problem. If I understand correctly, you would like to avoid using an internal DAQ card and just go through USB for communication. The NI SCXI-1600 is a DAQ Module for the SCXI-1000 that allows it to work with USB, and it uses a USB A to B cable.

Let me know if I did not understand you correctly or you have any more questions.

Kind Regards,

Nathan Burke

Applications Engineer

National Instruments

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(2,885 Views)

Thanks Nathan.  That might work.... does it replace the DAWCard6036E I currently have hooked up?  Would this be my "Chassis Controller"

-terry

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(2,881 Views)

The SCXI-1600 is you DAQ device and controls the chassis, this communicates back to the PC via the USB lead.