From 04:00 PM CDT – 08:00 PM CDT (09:00 PM UTC – 01:00 AM UTC) Tuesday, April 16, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Resetting an array within an Control & Simulation loop

Solved!
Go to solution

Afternoon all,

I'm fairly new to the Control & Simulation module, so I may be missing something obvious, but the attached subvi is giving me some trouble. Each time I run it, it's concatenating the new data onto the old. I want fresh data each time.

What am I missing, and what can I do differently to fix it?

Cheers!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(2,760 Views)

You want to look for loops that involve Shift Registers or Feedback.  I notice a Feedback loop in PID Core (which is initialized on the first call to an Empty Array, but if called again, will continue to append data) and in PID Modeller (the Cluster, but there isn't "appending" here, so this one is probably OK).

Who calls PID Core?  I'm not familiar with how a Control/Simulation Loop works, and whether or not it is called and/or exits ...

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 6
(2,746 Views)

Sorry, I should have been more clear - it's the output from PID Core that's giving me problems. PID Modeller calls it - and if you run it and feed it some numbers, you should be able to see that each time you hit run, it's retaining the old data in the graph. 

The Feedback node is likely the root of the problem - I don't THINK I can use shift registers on the control loop, which is why I've opted for the feedback node. I hoped that by initialising it to an empty array I'd force it to start from scratch each time the subVI is called, but that doesn't appear to be the case?

@Bob_Schor

I'm not familiar with how a Control/Simulation Loop works, and whether or not it is called and/or exits ...

Hah, me neither...

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 6