LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Requesting suggestion for possible software architecture design with PC- RT-& FPGA

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, I have run into a situation where I am supposed to make changes in existing architecture of a Labview application.

Given the case that I am new to this and do not have any help except you guys, I was hoping if someone could direct/ suggestion in the right direction for the following case:

Hardware: RT myRIO, FPGA and PC

Software's purpose: Send and acquire high frequency analog/digital signals using FPGA. Assess acquired signals in real-time and display results on screen (front panel- PC).   

Problem statement: Data updated on the main screen has lag to it and the lag increases when the data size/signal frequency is increased.

Existing architecture: Is divided in 3 parts (Previously there was no concern about updating data on main screen at a faster rate, thus the existing architecture)

1) Bit files that get deployed on FPGA to send and acquire signals

2) Data is collected on RT target (DMA FIFOs)

3) Data is sent from RT target to a PC, analyzed and results are shown on computer screen

Currently notifiers (problem?) are used to send data from RT to PC via TCP/IP. RT target collects data coming from FPGA using DMA FIFO and then this data is sent to a PC. PC has VIs that converts raw data into useful values. Works great only if signals/data changes at say about every 100ms. But fails to respond when say data updates every 5ms

Possible solution (that I could think of ): Use only two components

1) Continue using FPGA to send and acquire signals

2) Eliminate data collection on RT target

3) Collect data directly on a PC (DMA FIFOs), analyze and display (Tested the proposed solution, shows no observable lag so far. Not aware of caveats)

It almost seems like that current case of data transfer from FPGA-RT-PC can be simplified to FPGA-PC. I cannot think of caveats at the moment.