cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replace different values in different cells

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am new to LabVIEW and work with an instrument that gets it's settings from an Excel file. I need to change those settings in Excel with LabVIEW. The Excel file is formated in .xls (97-2003 version). The PC has Microsoft Office 2013 installed.

I am using LabVIEW 2014 (64-bit).

Task:
I want to change the values in 3 different cells in an Excel spreadsheet and save the workbook (not SaveAs).
The main vi is saved in the library in the zip file, it is called 'change 3 values in excel.vi'.
The excel file is attached separately.
I don't think it matters where those cells are in the Excel worksheet, the Excel memory seems to keep the cell selection of all cells in mind but replaces the value with the last one mentioned in the last sub vi.

Problem:
1) All cells change to the same value that I define in the third sub vi.
2) Excel asks me for SaveAs and doesn't just save over the existing file.
3) The Excel application doesn't close but I can't seem to figure out why.

Please advice. Help on any of those issues is highly appreciated.

Thank you!

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,144 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author JR_Sandra

Here is how I would do this.  I would use the Report Generation Toolkit (which is included in LabVIEW 2014).  This Example is a simplified version of your task -- you are given the name of an existing Excel Workbook to modify, the index of the Worksheet to use, the Excel Cell address (in Excel format, i.e. A1, for purposes of illustration), and the Cell Value that you want to insert there.

Replace Excel Cell.png