cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Replace Math Script with Formula Node

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi, 

Good people. I am new in LabView. I wrote a program using the Mathscript node but the iteration time is 200ms. I need something faster than this. My understanding formula node will be faster than the Mathscript node. Here I am attaching my VI.  I tried this to convert the formula node but faile. Can anyone help me to convert this VI to formula node?

Thanks.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(3,191 Views)

Wow -- someone who hasn't learned the First Principle of LabVIEW, the Principle of Data Flow.  Who doesn't know about Shift Registers and who hasn't learned (as many beginners, even myself, when I started learning (about) LabVIEW didn't realize) that one should almost never use Local Variables, particularly when inside a Loop (where Shift Registers make so much more sense).

One also wonders if you know how to use parentheses to make expressions like "K=m^2*m" unambiguous.  I don't know if you intend for the exponent to be 2 or 2m -- I also am not 100% certain I could predict how the MathScript interpreter (I'm assuming it is interpreted) will parse it, and whether its rules are the same as what you intend.

Here are some suggestions:

1. Start with the "assignment", where (I presume) the equations are clearly written down.
  2. LabVIEW functions (Add, Subtract, Multiply, Divide) are very fast.  Exponentiation requires dipping into the Mathematics Palette ("Elementary") and knowing a little high school algebra.
  3. I'm wondering if there's supposed to be some "calculus" here, derivative or integration.  Can't tell, as I can't say I have any confidence that the MathScript code accurately reflects the "real question" (or real equation).