LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reentrance in ansynchronously called Vis

Solved!
Go to solution

Ok, This is my first attempt at trying to do this, and I'm failing miserably!!! can someone please help walk me through how to do this.  I've read the help docs and the forum posts, but none are really helping me get where i need to be.  

Basically, I have to make several Oracle database calls in an effort to reduce overall latency with a query.  We were able to get it down to 4 basic calls, which should be able to get me under the 2s mark.  but without asynchronous reentrancy, I believe the calls are just being queued and so it is taking almost 3 seconds to run them.

I've written 4 vis to make connections to our database and each executes it's own query.  However, since I'm using the database connectivity toolkit, I the sub .vis to execute the query and fetch the data are where my lag is.  I assume I need to make them reentrant, but for the life of me I cannot figure out how to do this asynchronous call thing with them being in a sub .vi... and how do I open a reference to them, as I will be throwing all of this into an executable.

In the Attachments, Get Oracle Info is calling the 4 sub.vis.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,076 Views)

I cannot view your VIs (I'm on LV 2016), but if you haven't already seen it, look at the examples for "Asynchronous Call and Collect" that come with LabVIEW.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,054 Views)

Attaching as 2016.  I tried... but I'm getting stuck because I just don't think I quite understand how to implement the asynchronous calls - esp from inside the sub.vis.  

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 14
(3,047 Views)