LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Redirect response to the part of the program that generated the request

Hi everyone.

I decided to write on this forum as I am a Labview novice and I would like to understand if the idea in my head could be translated into a language suitable for this programming environment.
What I would like to do is define a VI that fully handles communication over an RS-485 line within my project. Specifically, it should have a queue in which to queue all the communication requests arriving from the various parts of the program, which should be processed, as master, in the order in which they arrived (FIFO).
My doubt concerns the management of the replies that would be received from the various slaves and, in particular, how I could redirect them to those parts of the program that generated the respective requests.

Thanks in advance to anyone who tries to clarify these doubts

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(638 Views)

Your request is quite possible, but you need to be able to understand advanced LabVIEW Design Patterns/Loop Synchronization and so on to achieve this.

Please go through basic LabVIEW, if you are familiar with basics you can go through advanced design patterns few are shared here.

Application Design Patterns: Master/Slave - NI

Using a Queued Message Handler in LabVIEW - NI

----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Palanivel Thiruvenkadam | பழனிவேல் திருவெங்கடம்
LabVIEW™ Champion |Certified LabVIEW™ Architect |Certified TestStand Developer

Kidlin's Law -If you can write the problem down clearly then the matter is half solved.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Message 2 of 5
(632 Views)