cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reading encoder data

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am a graduate student in Auburn University. I am working with a magnetic rotary encoder and a stepper motor. I am using a labview code to synchronize the encoder acquisition with that of a camera, The code has been uploaded here as well. When I am reading the encoder data and converting into RPM, I see fluctuations in the RPM, which goes up and down by 0.3RPM about the mean. The problem is that I am observing the fluctuations only by this amount irrespective of the microstepping I set on the stepper driver or the acquisition rate or the rotation rate. The devices I am using are as follows:

DAQ device: USB 6218

NEMA 34 stepper motor

DM860T Stepper driver

PMX-TBS motion controller

REV-11-1271 magnetic rotary encoder

The plot of the RPM v/s time is attached as well and there you can observe the fluctuations in the steady state RPM. Can someone please help with this problem that why I am seeing these fluctuations and is this a problem with the data acquisition, and if so, a way to rectify these?

Thank You

Regards,

Abbishek

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(2,782 Views)

1. Initial thought -- kinda looks like the real world to me, with somewhere in the ballpark of +/- 5% speed variation using stepper at very low speed (and unknown possible other transmission elements like gears, belts, etc.)

2. Your quantization effects are quite significant though.  Notice the discrete interval of ~0.3 RPM.   *Some* quantization is inevitable with encoders, but this seemed like a bit much. So I tried to break it down.

With a nominal 5 RPM and 4x decode on a 2048 cycle/rev encoder, you're at around 680 counts per sec.  You appear to be sampling at 20 Hz which makes for a nominal 34 counts per sample.  So an expected amount of quantization would be 1 part in 34 or about 3%.  Your data shows about 6%, pretty much exactly twice that.