LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Read ECG Raw data from microcontroller

Hi all,

I have searched all around this forum for my answer but haven't found yet though I know that it may be quite simple for you as I first use LV for a week. I'm studying Biomedical course and to know more about it I try to acquire ECG signal from an ECG hardware system. That has an ECG simulator and transfers signal to receiver which is built in microcontroller nRF24LE1 and connect to PC via COM port.The microcontroller sends 17 bytes to port per packet which always has byte 0 is A5 and byte 1 is 5A (in HEX). The packet provides data for 6 channels but ECG data is only on channel 1 with byte 4 (high byte) and byte 5 (low byte). Baud rate is 57600 and sample rate at 256 Hz with resolution as 4096, non handshaking.It works fine when I use another software to display ECG signal (Brainbay), still I haven't got it in LV yet. I made a simple vi to extract ECG data from 17 bytes read using VISA Read, but I received the wrong ECG signal waveform. I checked first two bytes, if they are both right A5 and 5A then calculate byte 4 and byte 5 to result. I attached my VI below.

Could anyone check it for me where I was wrong?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 20
(4,459 Views)

Here is a quick modification

Problem: You don't sync with your data.

What did I mod: collect and buffer the data from the serial

used match pattern to find the start bytes and exactly 15 bytes more (the 15 dots) (Im shure this could be done more elegant with a magic regular expression;) )

If found catch byte 4 and 5 and used the join number to build a word.

Changed the buffer display to Hex

I didn't check how it behave when you have more valid data in the buffer....

Have fun