From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to plot USART data on a graph

Hello!

My AVR microcontroller sends the result of an FFT algorithm through USART to my PC. It is really hard to evaluate the result on the terminal so I would like to display it on a graph. The result which is the spectrum of the measured signal is stored in an int array. I am new to LabView and I have trouble figuring out how VISA works and how to set up a graph to display the data. Please help me out.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 22
(3,773 Views)

Hi Adam!

If you are new to Labview I suggest you to use NI Example finder during building your first applications. You can find a lot of useful, ready to use examples, that can suite almost all application needs.

To open this please start Labview >> Click on Help >> And please choose Find examples...

You have to wait for a minute, and than Example Finder opens in a separate window.

Choose Search tab, and search for "serial". You will see some result, inculding these:

Advanced Serial Read and Write.vi; Basic 2 port Serial Write and Read.vi; Basic Serial Read and Write.vi; and a lot more...

I thnik, using these you can create a VI, that suits the needs of your application.

To plot the data in LV, you can choose from Waveform Chart, Waveform Graph and XY Graph. (You can find them on Controls Palette => it appears when you right click on the front panel)

To see how they can be used, please refer to the context help. (Press ctrl+H) 

Here is an example: https://decibel.ni.com/content/blogs/DailyCLAD/2012/08/15/waveform-graph-series-5-of-5#comment-23123