From Friday, April 19th (11:00 PM CDT) through Saturday, April 20th (2:00 PM CDT), 2024, ni.com will undergo system upgrades that may result in temporary service interruption.

We appreciate your patience as we improve our online experience.

LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

RS485 communication

I am pretty new to this. I am trying to control a motor over a frequency inverter. For that I am using an RS485 (LabVIEW version 2018, 32 bits). Now when I try to communicate with the inverter, it gives me the error "Error -1073807194 occurred at Property Node (arg 😎 in VISA Configure Serial Port (Instr).vi->Simple Serial.vi". What am I doing wrong?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(2,919 Views)

Hi Neby,

What am I doing wrong?

I guess there is something wrong in your VI!

(You would get much better answers once you attach your VI with all the settings you are using when running it…)

Btw. did you read the error explanation?

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(2,907 Views)

@Neby2 wrote:

What am I doing wrong?

The answer to the above question is you are giving us the error message, but failed to attach the VI (the "code") that caused the error.  If I look up that error code, LabVIEW says it means "The connection for the given session has been lost."  Maybe you forgot to "wire" a VISA Session to the Configure VISA function.  Maybe you forgot to connect the (physical) wire from your inverter to your RS485 port (exactly where is this port?  Real serial ports disappeared from PCs more than a decade ago, didn't they?).

Please attach your LabVIEW 2018 code, and tell us more about the hardware you are using, especially how the serial data (which I assume comes in on a DB25 plug) gets into your PC.

Bob Schor

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 16
(2,902 Views)

That is what I thought first, that is why I used an example code from the library and I got the same error.